Skip to Page Content

Scholarships and Awards

    • Alaska SHRM State Council Certification Preparation Scholarship

    Alaska SHRM State Council offers a Certification Preparation scholarship. The deadline is November 1 and the information can be found at

    To be eligible to apply, an HR professional must be a first-time master's student seeking a degree in HR and must meet at least one of the following criteria: 1) be a member of SHRM or 2) hold a professional certification (e.g., PHR, SPHR or GPHR certification) from the HR Certification Institute.

    • HRM Impact Awards
      Organizations with successful, evidence-based HR management practices are invited to submit applications for the HRM Impact Award. Winners will be selected based on their HR practices and initiatives that have been measured and deemed successful through evidence-based, data-driven analyses. They will receive a plaque and media exposure highlighting their winning practices or initiatives.

    Awards for SHRM Student Members and Advisors

    SHRM Foundation Student Scholarship Program
    More than $25,000 will be awarded in scholarships for graduate and undergraduate education, as well as the Assurance of Learning exam.

    SHRM Foundation Dissertation Awards

    In partnership with the HR Division of the Academy of Management, the Foundation presents four $5000 awards each year to support the dissertation research of promising doctoral candidates.

    Michael R. Losey Human Resource Research Award

    This premier $50,000 award from the Michael R. Losey endowment fund recognizes significant research contributions that impact the human resource management field.

    For more information about these awards, visit the SHRM Foundation.


    National: SHRM Pinnacle Award

    ASHRM is one of a handful of chapters in the United States that have received SHRM’s Pinnacle Award not once, but FOUR times for outstanding achievement in chapter development and contributions to the advancement of effective human resource management. The programs recognized include

    • ASHRM: The Last Recertification Frontier (2013).
    • ASHRM’s Partnership with Mayor’s Diversity Month (2007)
    • HR & Order (2002)
    • HRCI Certification Study Group (1998)

    Regional: Northwest HR Management Association (NHRMA)

    Several of its programs, members and student chapters have also been recognized by the Northwest Human Resource Management Association (NHRMA):

    • 2018 Randy Lundberg Award for outstanding work on the "Prisoner Reentry Walk Initiative"
    • Randy Lundberg Northern Lights Award

    This award recognizes Association Chapters for outstanding achievement and excellence in overall chapter programming and operations.

    • 2012 A Multi-Agency Partnership
    • 2010 The Last HRCI Recertification Frontier
    • 2008 ASHRM Partnership with the Municipality of Anchorage’s “Mayor’s Diversity Month”
    • 2004 Transition Assistance Program (TAP)
    • 1996 Outstanding Chapter Operations
    • Distinguished Member

    This award is intended to be a “HUMAN RESOURCES PROFESSION ACHIEVEMENT AWARD” to individuals who have provided exceptional service to the profession over a period of years.

    • Kristi Acuff, SPHR (2003)
    • Todd Allen, SPHR, CCP
    • Patty Billingsley, SPHR, SHRM-SCP (2017)
    • Louis M. Christie, SPHR (2010)
    • Ronald Fraze, SPHR (1996)
    • Patty Hickok, SPHR, GPHR (2011)
    • Patty Hickok, SPHR, GPHR, SHRM-SCP (2016)
    • James Jose, Ph.D., SPHR
    • Arve Solomon (1998)
    • Sallie Stuvek, SPHR, SHRM-SCP (2017)
    • Mary Tesch, SPHR (2008)

         Robert W. Denomy Award for Student Leadership

    This award recognizes students who have performed outstanding service to the HR profession and to the Association, in the best tradition of Bob Denomy. Bob Denomy is now retired after many years of service as PNPMA/NHRMA Association Director, providing significant support to the development and growth of student HRM programs in the Pacific Northwest.

    • 2014   Rachel Saddler,

    Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage

    • 2013   Brittany Sogge   

    Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage

    • 2011   Julie Drinnen      

    Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage

    • 2010   Bonnie Dorman

     Wayland Baptist University Student Chapter, Anchorage

    • 2003   Patty Hickok       

    University of Alaska Anchorage Student Chapter, Anchorage

    Local: ASHRM Member of the Year Award

    The ASHRM Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual member of ASHRM for her or his outstanding contributions, leadership and achievements in service to the Human Resources profession

    • 2017 - 2017 - Sharon Boegel
    • 2016 - Shara Lyman; Heather Kinzie
    • 2015 - Ann Flister, SPHR, SHRM-CP
    • 2014 - Sandi Weber, PHR
    • 2013 - Nancy Miller, SPHR
    • 2012 - Dave Rhodes
    • 2010 - Bonnie Dorman
    • 2009 - Darci Ahlien Stern, PHR
    • 2005 - Peggy O'Keefe
    • 2004 - Christine Hopkins (McAlpine), SPHR, GPHR
    • 2003 - Lisa Derrickson                   
    • 2002 - Bosco Baldwin, SPHR